The Road Ahead

My country is demolished and torn,

My family are famished and worn.

.

We travel in the wasteland for days,

No water or food our minds are a haze.

.

Seas we do cross on not but a raft,

Every nation we enter gives us the shaft.

.

I feel so alone in this cold hearted world,

My dead child in my arms is what I have held.

.

We started together in this voyage for hope,

Now I have ended alone and cannot cope.

.

All I did was for my children, my blood,

Now a grave full of sorrow is what I have dug.

.

What is left in this world but despair?

All the great powers and no one does care.

.

Take me God into your forgiving palace,

Let me drink from your loving chalice.

.

All I want to see is my children, my blood,

Let the final grave be mine that is dug.

Leave a Reply

