Hiroshima

I did not want to, but I was given no choice,

Soon this unexpecting country would lose its voice.

.

It’s 1945 and I fly in the clear summer sky,

To my nation many miles away I cried goodbye.

.

There below I see her, the undeserving enemy.

I’m sent as an end, an apparent remedy.

.

I dance through the sky like a fallen ballerina,

My performce overwhelming silences the arena.

.

A spectacle so bright our distant sun is now blind,

But my audience has gone 130,000 I cannot find.

.

Mere shadows of men are etched into the ground,

Hoards of mortality is all that can be found.

.

My tears for their lives rain down a shade of black,

Hiroshima is a day I wish I could take back.

Leave a Reply

