King of the Thames.

An educated man once said:

When you are tired of London, you are tired of life,

Yet to survive in this city there is much to sacrifice.

.

I sit here opposite an industrial creation,

HMS Belfast, a grey symbol for our nation.

.

A retired king sits on the icy Thames,

As it’s cold waters take their snake like bends.

.

Does he sit and think? Or does he surrender?

To be a tired lifeless city member.

.

What does he think of our selfish like ways?

Where we try to escape the capalistic maze.

.

His cannons are rested west, pointed to his queen,

Although our royal mistress is no where to be seen.

.

I look at this floating king and foresee my own fate,

I’m tired of my city, but here I must wait.

Leave a Reply

